wqphockey.blogg.se

Windows defrag ssd
Windows defrag ssd








Since file system fragmentation is over 10%, you will see that Windows will start defragmenting your SSD, with operation progress being reported in the "Optimize Drives" screen. Try enabling the scheduled optimization, then start manually "System Maintenance" from the Action Center. Did you read the link from Scott Hanselman's blog I previously provided? The scheduled optimization however as long as it's enabled, will also cause the SSD to get defragmented on a system-defined, non-tweakable schedule. Thanks for bringing this to our attention SSBrain.Ĭlicking the optimize button on the "Optimize Drives" window does indeed only send TRIM commands on the free space. It seems that ssd drives do benefit from defragging, but improvement in the real world results is marginal at best. Loading Dustbowl on one of my favourite servers is exactly the same as before. I loaded old saves in Skyrim and Crysis that I use for testing performance of video card drivers and, although I never timed the loading, it feels like they are loading a second or two faster. There was no speedup that I could measure.

windows defrag ssd

After that I started the usual programs - Firefox, Photoshop, iTunes.

windows defrag ssd

I tried ASSSD and CDM, but they didnt show any improvement over the old tests. About 2 "frames" of the boot animation, to be exact. This windows 7 system is 3 years old and it was quite a bit fragmented as expected, and the most fragmented files had couple of thousand of fragments.įirst thing i noticed after the defrag is that windows boot was slightly faster. Well, curiosity got the best of me so I did try to defrag my ssd.










Windows defrag ssd